OIT HelpDesk - Knowledge Base
What are my options for file storage at UT?
In Fall 2014, the campus signed agreements with Microsoft and Google that provide cloud file storage for all faculty, staff, and students. Now we have 3 different university approved file storage options. Information about storing sensitive information is available in the OIT Knowledge Base
T-Storage provides a central location for users and departments to store files and is available to all Knoxville faculty, staff, and students. The quota for personal home areas is 50 GB and the quota for departmentail shares is 200 GB/user. Files are backed up and retained for up to 90 days. Details for hourly, daily, and monthly back-ups are available on the OIT T-Storage website.
Additional information about T-Storage is available on the OIT T-Storage website.
OneDrive for Business
OneDrive for Business is available through your Office 365 account. You can store documents and photos online so they can be accessed from any Internet-connected computer and be shared with others. The OneDrive for Business quota is 1 TB (soon to be unlimited). Deleted items go into the recycle bin, where they stay until they’re automatically removed 90 days later. During the 90-day period, you can remove files from the recycle bin to free up storage space or restore items to their original location if you’ve accidentally deleted them. Once a file has been removed from the recycle bin, it can no longer be recovered.
Additional information about OneDrive, including the usage policy, is available on OIT’s Office 365 page.
Google Drive on your Mac, PC, Android or iOS device gives you a single place for up-to-date versions of your files from anywhere. Google Drive is currently offering unlimited storage for education customers. Files removed from Google Drive will be in your Trash until you permanently delete the files or restore them. Some things to know about Trash:
- If you move a file out of your Google Drive folder on your computer, the same file on the web will be moved to Trash.
- If you move a shared file to Trash, it will still be shared until you empty the Trash.
- If you empty the Trash, the file will be permanently deleted. Files that have been permanently deleted can be restored for up to 25 days.
Additional information about Google Drive, including the usage policy, is available on OIT’s Google Apps page. Contact the OIT HelpDesk if you have questions about which option is best for you.